The Dip

 

At this very moment I am sitting at my desk, alternating my foot from a bucket of ice water to a hot compress. Yesterday, I tripped and fell flat on my face. (Don’t worry, nothing is broken. Just a bruised foot…and ego).

Seth Godin The DipBack home, my family recently celebrated my nephew’s birthday with a jungle-themed party. Friends are heading to the beach to enjoy the sunny So-Cal weather. (Please, stop posting pictures of your In n Out burgers. It’s torture! Please.)

Here, the rainy season has officially started. But the heat – oh the heat – it doesn’t stop.

On top of that, building our lives here is taking longer than expected. You see, we don’t live in the expat bubble. I wasn’t sent here on the dime of an international employer. My immigration, bank account, driver’s license, car etc. was not arranged for me. All of this has been done by scratch, with the help of family and friends of course.

My point? The initial allure and adventure of moving abroad is fading away.

Is it time to pack our bags and go home? Heck no!

This is only the beginning. Just like any new endeavor, whether your starting a new business or learning how to play the guitar, you will experience The Dip. (Coined by one of my heroes, Seth Godin)

When The Dip comes – and it will – you must decide. Is it time to cut your losses and move on? Is my heart into this? Am I trying my best….and can I be the best?

Not easy questions to answer.

Yes, I’m in the dip. The good news? Next week I finally get my car. Business is getting even better. And, they just opened a Krispy Kreme right outside my village.

It’s all about celebrating the small successes and taking a realistic step back to evaluate where you are at – and where you want to be.

And right now, I want to be in line for a fresh Krispy Kreme donut!

14 responses to “The Dip

  1. that’s my stubborn and determined girl…I have one word for you…”yummm” (and that has nothing to do with Krispy Kreme’s or burgers!)

  2. haha hearing about you falling reminded me of softball…just be glad you don’t have any bloody knees :P and hang in there!! after dips come peaks!! :)

    • Awww thanks for the inspiration…yep, just gotta look forward to the peaks. And yes, I still have a scar from the softball incident, haha!

  3. Oh, so agree with you about the Dip, especially when you have an injury, which can make everything seem more difficult. I damaged my pinkie toe 2 months ago, and I’m still unable to walk or balance normally. There’s been a lot of talking myself through all the dips. Hope you heal quickly.

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one that goes through this – thank you for your kind words. Isn’t it crazy how one tiny foot injury can affect your day-to-day life? No fun! Still, gotta keep on keepin’ on! :-)

  4. Liana, don’t even get me started on how many times I randomly start craving for In-N-Out burgers. It’s ridiculous. I’m still on the hunt for something around here that’s the most similar. Once I find it, you’ll be the first to know. ;)

    • One of my friends here literally had her pilot friend bring over an In N Out burger from the states on her last flight. She said it was still amazingly good, haha! :)

    • And yes please – do let me know if you find a good alternative. If you like Mexican food I heard Hermano’s is really good (in Molito.) Some guy from South Central LA opened up the place and I’ve heard it’s really authentic. :)

      • No way! It wasn’t too soggy?? Maybe I’ll try doing that next time. :) And I’ve been hearing so much about Hermano’s! Have you tried it yet? I miss legit Mexican food, I’ll have to check it out sometime, thanks for the tip! :)

  5. Pingback: Expat Life 101 – Alcohol: A Girl’s Best Friend | Mango Mornings·

Let's talk!

